Über das Festival

Festivalstruktur

Preisliste

Bewertungssystem

FAQs

Industry

Sponsors

Tama

Click here for more testimonials Click here to visit bands website

FAQs


Wie registriere ich mich für das Surface Festival?

Der einzige Weg, um sich für das Surface Festival zu registrieren ist ein Bewerbungsformular, das Du auf der Anmeldeseite der Internetseite findest. Bitte versichere Dich, dass Du alle mit einem Sternchen * markierten Felder ausgefüllt hast! Wir benötigen die Namen und Alter alle beteiligten Bandmitglieder und mindestens drei gültige E-Mail-Adressen, zwei Telefonrufnummern und zwei Adressen. Keine Sorge, wir werden Deine Daten nicht an Dritte weitergeben – Deine Informationen werden vertraulich und ausschließlich in Verbindung mit dem Surface Festival verwendet.

Aus welchen Regionen werden Bewerbungen für das Surface Festival akzeptiert?

Das Surface Festival akzeptiert derzeit Bewerbungen aus ganz England, Barcelona und Berlin.

Wie alt muss meine Band sein, um am Surface Festival teilnehmen zu dürfen?

Alle Bandmitglieder müssen am Tag des ersten Auftritts, im Februar, 16 Jahre oder älter sein.

Welche Altersbeschränkung gilt für Fans, die am Surface Festival teilnehmen wollen?

Altersbeschränkungen für jedes Ereignis können vor jedem Auftritt auf der regionalen Internetseite gefunden werden. 18+ Veranstaltungen sind für Erwachsene im Alter von 18 Jahren und älter. 16+ Veranstaltungen sind für Jugendliche und älter. Bitte beachte die Altersbeschränkungen! Es wird keine Erstattung für Tickets geben.

Akzeptiert das Surface Festival alle Genres und Musikstile?

Ja. Wir akzeptieren Musik aus allen Hintergründen und Genres.

Dürfen dem Surface Festival auch Solo-Künstler beitreten?

Ja.

Gibt es einen Anmeldeschluss für das Surface Festival?

Wir erhalten europaweit pro Jahr rund 15.000 Bewerbungen von Künstlern, die am Surface Festival teilnehmen wollen. Daher raten wir dringend dazu, dass uns der Online-Bewerbungsbogen bis zum 31. Dezember 2011 erreicht. Als allgemeine Empfehlung empfiehlt das Surface Festival die Bewerbung so schnell wie möglich abzusenden, denn umso später Du diese abgibst, desto geringer ist die Chance einen Platz zu gewinnen.

Darf meine Band Cover-Songs spielen?

Nein.

Muss ich die Ausrüstung zum Auftritt mitbringen?

Nein, das Surface Festival bietet Dir vor Ort die technische Organisation, Licht- und Tontechniker, Bühnenmanager, Moderator und jeden anderen Aspekt der zur Organisation, d.h. die PA-Anlage (Beschallungsanlage), Mikrofone, Monitore, etc. Das Surface Festival bietet auch die volle Backline (Gitarren- und Bassverstärker, vollständiges Schlagzeug inkl. Becken, Stands, Hocker und Kick-Pedale), die sich wie folgt zusammensetzt:

Bass: Ashdown ABM 500 EVO II Head 575W Bassverstärker und ABM 810 Cabinet 1200W 8 x 10 "Bassbox
Gitarre: 3 x 100W Marshall Heads und Cabs / Rückstellungen für akustische Instrumente
Schlagzeug: Tama Superstar-Kit mit Zildjian Becken
Gesang: SM58 durch die PA-Anlage vor Ort

Bitte schreibe uns eine E-Mail, falls andere Instrumente, außer Gitarre (akustisch und elektrisch), Bass, Schlagzeug, Keyboard und Gesang benötigt werden!

Darf ich meine eigene Ausrüstung verwenden?

Das Surface Festival bietet eine vollständige Backline. Von allen Künstlern wird demnach erwartet, dass sie die vorhandene Backline so viel wie möglich nutzen. Schlagzeuger können gerne ihre eigenen Snare und Fußmaschine verwenden, Gitarristen ihre eigenen Effektgeräte und ihre eigenen Verstärkerköpfe nutzen, müssen jedoch nicht eigene Boxen (Cabinets) mitbringen. Bassisten müssen unsere Ausrüstung von Ashdown nutzen. Ausführliche Informationen zum Instrumentarium werden auf dem ersten Treffen ausgestellt werden. Für alle anderen Fragen wendest Du Dich bitte an den Manager in Deiner Region!

Welche Veranstaltungsorte verwendet das Surface Festival?

Wir verwenden die besten Locations, die uns zur Verfügung, wie z.B. die “The O2“ in London. Eine Übersicht der Veranstaltungsorte in jeder Region findest Du auf der regionalen Internetseite.

Welche Preise bietet das Surface Festival im Jahr 2012?

Bitte siehe auf die Internetseite Preisliste

Gibt es eine Anzahlung?

Beim Meeting für das Surface Festival wird eine einmalige Kaution in Höhe von 50 € fällig, um Deinen ersten Auftritt auf dem Surface Festival abzusichern. Die Erfahrungen haben uns gezeigt, dass einige Künstler am Veranstaltungstag leider ausgefallen sind, als wir keine Kaution berechnet hatten. Die Kaution zahlen nur Künstler, die auf das Surface Festival gebucht werden. Du erhältst die Anzahlung am ersten Veranstaltungstag zurück, wenn 25 Tickets verkauft werden. Wenn Du keine 25 Tickets verkaufst, kannst Du trotzdem auf dem Surface Festival spielen. Es gibt keinen Mindestbetrag zu verkaufender Tickets und Du musst NICHT für jedes nicht verkaufte Ticket bezahlen!

Werde ich für gespielte Konzerte bezahlt?

Ja. Unsere Regelung für Künstler wie folgt:

Sobald Du bei Deinem ersten Auftritt 25 Tickets verkaufst, bekommst Du Deine Kaution in voller Höhe zurück. Für jedes verkaufte Ticket, nach dem 25. Ticket, wirst Du pro Ticket an den Einnahmen beteiligt. Die Zahlung erhöht sich, umso mehr Tickets Du nach folgender Regelung verkaufst:

26 Tickets oder mehr: Du erhältst 1,00 € pro Ticket.
50 Tickets oder mehr: Du erhältst 1,50 € pro Ticket.
75 Tickets oder mehr: Du erhältst 2,00 € pro Ticket.
100 Ticket oder mehr: Du erhältst 2,50 € pro Ticket.

Sobald Du in der zweiten Runde, in den Halbfinal-Showcases und dem regionalen Showcase mindestens 25 Tickets verkaufst, wirst Du pro Ticket an den Einnahmen beteiligt. Die Zahlung erhöht sich, umso mehr Tickets Du nach folgender Regelung verkaufst:

25 Tickets oder mehr: Du erhältst 1,00 € pro Ticket.
50 Tickets oder mehr: Du erhältst 1,50 € pro Ticket.
75 Tickets oder mehr: Du erhältst 2,00 € pro Ticket.
100 Ticket oder mehr: Du erhältst 2,50 € pro Ticket.

Es gibt keinen Mindestbetrag zu verkaufender Tickets und Du musst NICHT für jedes nicht verkaufte Ticket bezahlen, sondern einfach am Tag der Show alle nicht verkauften Tickets Deinem Area-Manager am Veranstaltungsort zurückgeben. Alle verkauften Tickets müssen vor dem Soundcheck mit dem Veranstaltungsort abgeglichen werden, damit interessiertes Publikum genügend Tickets an der Abendkasse erwerben kann.

Muss ich für die Tickets im Voraus bezahlen?

Das Surface Festival wird Künstler niemals fragen Tickets im Voraus zu bezahlen oder für nicht verkaufte Tickets zu bezahlen. Einfach alle nicht verkauften Tickets am Veranstaltungstag an Deinen Area-Manager zurückgeben.

Wie gelangen Künstler von einer Runde zur Nächsten?

In den Runden 1 und 2 besteht das Surface Festival Abstimmungssystem aus einer Bewertungsstruktur. Bewertungen können durch Publikumsabstimmung, Abstimmung per SMS, Abstimmung teilnehmender Künstler und Abstimmung durch die Musikindustrie gewonnen werden.
1 Stimme per SMS = 1 Bewertung
1 Stimme durch das Publikum = 5 Bewertungen
1 Stimme durch den Künstler = 20 Bewertungen
1 Stimme durch die Musikindustrie = 30 Bewertungen

Weitere Informationen über die Struktur des Festivals findest Du auf der Seite Struktur des Festivals

Was bedeutet SMS-Stimme und wie können meine Fans für mich abstimmen?

Die Abstimmung per SMS ist für jenes Publikum geeignet, das es nicht zum Auftritt geschafft hat, aber immer noch ihre Unterstützung für Deine Band zeigen will.

Sobald Künstler in die regionalen und nationalen Showcases gelangen, ist es, aufgrund der Größe des Veranstaltungsortes, unmöglich eine genaue Zählung der Publikumsstimmen vorzunehmen. Mittels SMS-Stimme kann die Öffentlichkeit noch immer an den Abstimmungen teilnehmen.

Wenn wir Dich auf das Surface Festival buchen, werden wir Dir eine individuelle und einzigartige SMS-Abstimmungs-Nummer zuweisen. Diese ID wird während des gesamten Surface Festivals die Gleiche bleiben.

Bitte beachte die folgenden Bedingungen und Konditionen weiterzugeben, sobald Du für Deine SMS-Abstimmungs-Nummer wirbst: 16+. SMS kostet 1,00 € plus Netzentgelte. Bitte um Erlaubnis des Rechnungsempfängers. Kundendienst: festival@surfaceunsigned.co.uk oder kontaktiere uns unter 0800 434 6076

Ich habe mich für das Surface Festival beworben, aber noch keine Rückmeldung erhalten. Was soll ich tun?

Bitte überprüfe Deinen SPAM-Ordner, bevor Du uns darüber informierst, dass Du keine Bestätigungs-Mail erhalten hast. Konten wie beispielsweise Hotmail und Yahoo leiten Mails auch ohne SPAM manchmal automatisch in den SPAM-Ordner.

Bitte versichere Dich beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars, dass Du alle mit einem Sternchen * markierten Felder ausgefüllt hast! Wir benötigen die Name und Alter alle beteiligten Bandmitglieder und mindestens drei E-Mail-Adressen, zwei Telefonrufnummern und zwei Adressen. Dies soll sicherstellen, dass wir mit Dir Kontakt aufnehmen können, im wahrscheinlichen Fall, dass E-Mail-Postfächer voll sind, E-Mail-Adressen, Anschriften und Mobilfunkrufnummern sich ändern und Handys ab und an mal verloren gehen. Keine Sorge, wir werden Deine Daten nicht an Dritte weitergeben – Deine Informationen werden vertraulich und ausschließlich in Verbindung mit Surface Festival verwendet.

Wie werden meine persönlichen Daten verarbeitet, die das Surface Festival über mich erhebt?

E-Mail-Adressen und andere persönliche Daten werden ausschließlich durch das Surface Festival verwendet. Personenbezogen Daten werden nicht an Dritte außerhalb von Surface Festival weitergegeben. Die im Online-Bewerbungsformular eingegebenen Daten werden ausschließlich von den Area-Managern verwendet, um die jeweiligen Auftritte der Künstler zu buchen. Darüber hinaus schreiben wir manchmal direkte E-Mails an die Besucher der Internetseite, welche uns ihre E-Mail-Adresse zu bestimmten Zwecken, wie den Empfang des E-Mail-Newsletters, zur Verfügung gestellt haben. Sobald Du an irgendeinem Punkt nicht länger Informationen von Surface Festival bekommen möchtest, sende uns eine E-Mail mit “unsubscribe“ in der Betreffzeile!

Meine Frage ist nicht aufgeführt. Wen kontaktiere ich?

Sende unserem Team eine E-Mail und wir werden Dir jede legitime Frage zum Surface Festival beantworten.



© Surface Festival 2012 | T: 0800 434 6076 | hello@surfaceunsigned.co.uk | Terms of Use Agreement | Privacy Policy | Text Voting Terms & Conditions
By entering this website you are accepting our Website Terms & Conditions. If for any reason you cannot accept these terms and the disclaimer in full then you must leave this website immediately.

About the Festival

Festival Structure

Prize List

Scoring System

FAQs

Industry Judges

Sponsors

Click here for more testimonials Click here to visit bands website

Frequently Asked Questions


How do I sign up to Surface Festival?

The only way to sign up to the Surface Festival is to fill in an application form which you can find on the sign up page on the website. Please make sure that you fill in all the relevant areas marked with *; we require all band members’ names and ages, at least three email addresses, two contact numbers and two addresses. Don't worry, we will not pass any details on to any other organizations - all your information is private and will only be used by us in conjunction with the festival.

What areas do Surface Festival accept applications from?

Surface Festival are currently accepting applications from all areas of the U.K. and Europe.

How old does my band have to be to enter the festival?

All band members have to be 16 by the day of your first gig.

What is the age restriction of fans wanting to come to see a gig?

Age restrictions for each event can be found by each gig on the regional mini-site. 18+ events are for people of 18 years of age and over. 16+ events are for people of 16 years of age and over. 14+ events are for people of 14 years of age and over. Please respect age restrictions. Please bring ID. There will be no refunds given on tickets.

Is Surface Festival open to all genres/styles of music?

Yes. We accept bands and artists from all backgrounds and genres.

Can solo artists enter?

Yes.

Is there a deadline for entries?

We receive around 15,000 applications each year from bands and artists wanting to take part in the Surface Festival. Therefore, we strongly advise that your application form reaches us by 31st December 2011. As general guidance Surface Festival recommends you get your application to us as soon as possible, as the later you leave it the less chance you will have of successfully gaining a place.

Can my band play cover songs?

You can play cover songs, however we suggest that you showcase as much original material as possible. Surface Festival is all about discovering new music so if you decide to play a cover make it as "original" as possible. You can also play instrumentals.

Do I have to bring equipment to the gig?

Surface Festival provides the venue, the technical organization, the sound tech, stage manager, lighting technician, presenter and every other aspect of organization i.e. the P.A., microphones, stage monitors etc. Surface Festival also provides the full backline (guitar & bass amps, full drum set incl. cymbals, stands, drum stool and kick pedals). The backline is as follows:

Bass: Ashdown ABM 500 EVO II Head 575W bass amplifier head and ABM 810 Cabinet 1200W 8 x 10" bass cabinet
Guitar: 3 x Marshall 100W Heads and Cabs/provisions for acoustic instruments
Drums: Tama Superstar Kit with Zildjian cymbals
Vocals: SM58’s through the house P.A.

Any other instruments can also be catered for; however please drop us an email if your band has other instruments apart from guitar (acoustic and electric), bass, drums, keyboards and vocals.

Can I use my own equipment?

The Surface Festival provides a fully pro backline. All bands and artists are expected to use the backline as much as possible. However, drummers may bring their own snare and kick pedal. Guitarists can bring their own effects and their own amp heads but NOT their own cabs. Bass players must use our Ashdown rig. Full details about equipment will be issued at the first initial meeting, however for any other questions about equipment please email your local area manager.

Which venues are you using?

We use the best venues available, such as the o2 in London. For a list of venues in each area, please take a look at the appropriate regional mini-site.

What prizes are in store for 2012?

Please see the prize list page on the website.

Is there a deposit?

At your meeting for the Festival there will be a one-off deposit of £50 per band in order to secure your first gig slot. Only bands and artists that get booked onto the Festival pay the deposit. You will receive the full deposit back on the day of your first gig if you sell 25 tickets. If you do not sell 25 tickets you can still play, there is no minimum amount of tickets you have to sell. Experience has shown that if we do not charge a deposit some bands and artists will drop out on the day of their gig, leaving us with an empty slot which could have been given to another band.

Do I get paid for the gigs I play?

Yes. Our payment scheme to bands and artists is as follows:

At your first stage gig if you sell 25 tickets you will receive your £50 deposit back. In the first stage of the festival you will get paid £1.00 for every ticket you sell after 25. Payment back to you increases the more tickets you sell according to the payment scheme below:

26 tickets or more: You receive £1.00 per ticket.
50 tickets or more: You receive £1.50 per ticket.
75 tickets or more: You receive £2.00 per ticket.
100 tickets or more: You receive £2.50 per ticket.

At your 2nd stage gig, Semi-Final Showcase and Regional Showcase you will get paid £1.00 for every ticket you sell, if you sell 25 tickets. Payment back to you increases the more tickets you sell according to the payment scheme below:

25 tickets or more: You receive £1.00 per ticket.
50 tickets or more: You receive £1.50 per ticket.
75 tickets or more: You receive £2.00 per ticket.
100 tickets or more: You receive £2.50 per ticket.

There is no minimum amount of tickets to sell and you will not have to pay for any unsold tickets, simply bring any unsold tickets to the venue on the day of the show and give them to your area manager. All sold tickets must then be reconciled before sound checks.

Fans will also be able to access the venue on the door.

Does my band have to pay for any unsold tickets from the ticket booklet we were given?

Surface Festival will never ask bands and artists to pay for tickets in advance nor will you have to pay for any unsold tickets. Simply give any unsold tickets back to your area manager on the day of your gig.

How do bands and artists progress from one stage to the next?

The voting system consists of a ratings structure. Surface Ratings can be gained through text votes, audience votes, musicians’ votes (bands and artists vote for each other) and industry votes:

A text vote = 1 rating
An audience vote = 5 ratings
A musicians’ vote = 20 ratings
An industry vote = 30 ratings

For further information on the Structure of the Festival please see the Festival structure page.

What is the text vote for and how can my fans text vote for my band?

The text vote was set up for fans who cannot make it to your gig(s) but still want to show their support for your band.

When bands and artists get as far as the Regional and National Showcases, the venue capacity makes it impossible to keep an accurate track on audience votes. With the text vote the public can still contribute.

When we book your band onto the Festival we will assign your band a text vote number. Your unique text vote number will stay the same throughout the whole Festival.

Please remember to add the following terms and conditions whenever advertising your text vote number:

16+. Texts cost £1.00 plus standard network charges. Please get permission from the bill payer. Customer services: hello@surfaceunsigned.co.uk or contact us on 0800 434 6076

 

I have applied to the Festival but haven't heard anything back. What do I do?
Please check your junk-folder as accounts such as hotmail and yahoo sometimes automatically forward non-spam emails into junk mail. Please check this before contacting us about not receiving your verification email.

When filling out your application form please make sure that you fill in all the relevant areas marked with *; we require all band members’ names and ages, at least three email addresses, two contact numbers and two addresses. This is to make sure we can get in contact with you. Emails sometimes bounce and telephone numbers change. (I.e. mailboxes are full, servers fail, people change their contract or loose their phone etc.) Don’t worry; we will not pass these details on to any other companies. If you are uncertain please contact us via email.

Once we have received your application and have sent you a verification email, your application will be vetted. Due to the large amount of applications received Surface Festival cannot inform every band if their application has been unsuccessful, we will only contact successful applicants. Successful applicants will be contacted via email.

What does Surface Festival do with personal data collected from the website?
E-mail addresses and other personally identifying data submitted to us is used by Surface Festival only. Personal data will not be disseminated to parties outside of Surface Festival. Personal information provided to us through our online application form is used by area managers to book bands and artists onto gig slots. In addition we sometimes direct e-mail to website visitors who have provided us with their e-mail addresses for specific purposes such as receiving our e-mail newsletters. If you at any point no longer wish to receive communication from Surface Festival, please send us an email with ‘unsubscribe’ in the subject.

My question is not listed here, who do I contact?
Drop our team an email and we’ll answer any question you have.



© Surface Festival 2012 | T: 0800 434 6076 | hello@surfaceunsigned.co.uk | Terms of Use Agreement | Privacy Policy | Text Voting Terms & Conditions
By entering this website you are accepting our Website Terms & Conditions. If for any reason you cannot accept these terms and the disclaimer in full then you must leave this website immediately.